Wolverine Talk at the Jackson Hole Nature Club

After weeks of trying to wrangle an answer to questions about the Mongolian visa process, I’ve finally accepted that I will not be able to return until next year. Alas, wolverine and snow leopard investigations will have to wait – although they are only postponed, not canceled.

In the meantime, I will be giving a talk about Mongolian wolverines on Tuesday, September 10th, at the Jackson Hole Bird and Nature Club meeting at the Teton County Library in Jackson, Wyoming. The talk starts at 6:00 pm and will cover my four years of work in Mongolia, touching on ecology, culture, and the research process. I’ll probably also talk a bit about conservation issues here in the Rockies, and how we might learn more about some of these challenges through research on wolverines at the southern edge of their range in the eastern hemisphere.

This will be the first time I’ve spoken about this work in public in the US, so I’m excited at the prospect. Admission is free, so please come by if you’re in the area, and bring lots of questions.

I’m also coming out of the haze induced by the uncertainty over Mongolia, so hopefully I’ll be back to more regular posting here at the blog. I was just down in Jackson last week to meet with friends and colleagues, many of whom I haven’t seen in some time, and it was energizing to be back among so many committed and innovative individuals. If I have to be stuck in the States, there’s no better place to be than the Yellowstone region. I’m looking forward to strengthening ties and connections here over the coming months.

3 thoughts on “Wolverine Talk at the Jackson Hole Nature Club

    • I think that the scope of Ms. Wolverine’s advice is somewhat limited by her gulo-centric understanding of how relationships work. Nevertheless, she is more than willing to entertain questions if people submit them. So encourage your friends-with-issues to send her a query, and she will reply (just forewarn your friends that they may not like her response….)

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

