Doug Chadwick in Helena

Doug Chadwick, author of The Wolverine Way, is speaking tonight in Helena, Montana – details about the event can be found here. Doug spoke at our Wolverine Night event in Jackson this spring, and is a dynamic presenter, so if you’re fortunate enough to be in the area, check out the event. The book is now in its second printing, testimony (beyond my own admittedly biased opinion) to the fact that it’s a great story.

If you can’t make it to Helena, you’ll have two more opportunities for wolverine-focused events in the next month. Conservation groups are holding an advance screening of the soon-to-be-released PBS Nature film Wolverine: Chasing the Phantom in Bozeman, Montana on October 7th. Director and writer Gianna Savoie will be present for a question-and-answer session after the film. Be at the Crawford Theater, Emerson Center for Arts and Culture, 11 S. Grand Ave, at 7:00 pm to attend.

On October 9th, the film will screen again at the Jackson Hole Center for the Arts in Jackson, Wyoming, an NRCC co-sponsored event. Gianna Savoie and Rick Yates of the Glacier National Park Wolverine Project will be present, along with other wolverine biologists and conservationists. The film starts at 7:00. Stay tuned for more information on the schedule of pre- and post-screening fun.

I’ve had my own sneak preview of the entire film, and it’s fantastic, so if you have the chance, put it on your calendar and I hope to see you there.

4 thoughts on “Doug Chadwick in Helena

  1. Pingback: Wolverine Teaser « The Wolverine Blog

  2. I have watched Doug in action in the field with bears and on the stage with his show. He is very competent in both areas. Doug is a natural woodsman with the training of a biologist and has genuine passion for his wild subjects. He is as comfortable and entertaining on stage as he is in the woods. I highly recommend seeing any of his presentations if you have the chance.

  3. When a friend told me of Doug’s book The Wolverine Way, I was both ecstatic and bummed. This idea had been on my mind for ten years. I knew my spin on a writing wolverine book would require a year or two spent with Copeland and maybe Canadian biologists, but I was too chicken to quit my full time job to do the project justice.
    Congratulations Mr.Chadwick on a great read and a great PBS doc. as well.

    • I had the same reaction. I was planning on writing a book, too. I don’t have any complaints, because discovering that I wasn’t the first to have the idea of a book did catalyze the founding of this blog as an alternative way to write about wolverines.

      Doug’s book is fantastic, though, and I have no regrets that he was the one to write the seminal work on wolverines in the Rockies. I’m transferring my literary ambitions to the world’s first book on wolverines in Mongolia – and I am certain that I won’t have any competition there.

      Canada and Siberia are still wide open to gulo literary endeavors, as far as I know…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

